baby

How having a baby changed me

Mila is 18 months old now and in that time I’ve not only watched her grow but I’ve also watched myself grow into a mother and evolve as a person! I never thought I could change, before having Mila I was a make up obsessed, holiday loving, out every weekend kind of girl. I knew the nights out would take a back seat but I didn’t realise that my love for make up and other hobbies would also be sat in the back too!

It’s so easy to lose a sense of yourself when you step into the world of parenthood and I suddenly realised this only a few months ago when I walked straight past the make up concessions in boots to find the baby isle. Not only had I lost my passion for make up but I also started to notice that my wardrobe was bare from where I’d stopped thinking about myself and was more interested in making sure Mila had everything she needed (and more). Even simple things like going to a gym class, to the cinema or getting my nails done had become a thing of the past! Once I realised how much I’d really lost of my pre baby self I made a point of buying some new outfits and treating myself to some new nails and I couldn’t believe how much I just needed that. Having a baby is a massive change within itself and you’ll naturally grow and change for the better, it almost puts things into perspective; I no longer have the fear of missing out which used to give me such anxiety back in my ‘pre baby’ days, and I appreciate nights out with my friends and time out with family so much more. The world of parenthood is like no other world I knew before having a baby, you’ll experience new levels of love and happiness and you’ll inevitably change in a way you would never have imagined, but its key to remember that you are also important and there is nothing you’ll need more than some self care along the way!

Leave a comment